Information Technology Infrastructure Library

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library, or ITIL

A set of publications providing descriptive (i.e. what to do and why) guidance on IT service management. ITIL is the de facto standard framework for IT Service Management best practices. ITIL defines overall IT Service Management as ten core processes that separate into two major functional groups – one for IT Service Delivery and one for IT Service Support.

“The benefits of adopting and implementing ITIL are many. Organizations have cut costs, improved processing time and enhanced their overall service provisions significantly. Since IT is what drives business today, service provision to customers has a major bearing on the interests of CIOs. The accurate measurement of service provides them with strategic information for decision making in their quest for return on investment and the alignment of IT with the business.”
Pink Elephant – Benefits of ITIL

Service Delivery

  • The management of IT services involving a number of management practices to ensure that IT services and levels are provided.

Service Support

  • The practice of those disciplines that enable IT Services to be provided effectively.
    ITIL describes how these practices are related to wider business issues.

Ten fundamental processes of IT operations

  • Service Delivery
    1. Availability Management
    2. Capacity Management
    3. Financial Management
    4. Service Level Management
    5. Continuity Management
  • Service Support
    1. Incident Management
    2. Problem Management
    3. Change Management
    4. Configuration Management
    5. Release Management